Autumn

Posted: 5 October 2009 in Days Out

I love autumn, it is my favourite season. I love seeing the colours of the leaves on trees and listening to those leaves rustle in the wind. Yesterday we all put on our boots & went walking through the park. We had great fun kicking the leaves up and collecting conkers. We passed lots of people who all seemed to be doing the same thing. Everyone was smiling (well apart from Katie who was on a whingey afternoon!) and the light coming through the trees made Robyn really happy.

“I thought it would be spooky in the woods”, she had said. “But it’s not, the sunshine is coming through the trees and it’s all sparkly!”.

I love autumnal food. Roasted root vegetables with a piece of slow cooked brisket, thick soups and warming puddings! Stew and dumplings, chilli with jacket potatoes! Delicious!

This morning I got the girls thick winter coats out for the 1st time since they got put away in late spring. As Robyn put hers on she said “Ooooh I’ve missed this coat!”. She snuggled up in it and skipped out the front door into the autumn sunshine.

For me, maybe most of all, I love the EXCITEMENT that is in the air! Halloween is creeping up on us (sorry for the pun!), then it’ll be Bonfire night which has all of the elements of autumn that I love… the colours, sounds, chill in the air, the excitement and the warming food. Then of course comes the preparing for Advent & Christmas!

So much to look forward to, so much to be thankful for. Yes, there are things I could be sad & gloomy about with summer ending (did we actually get a summer?! See my point?!) but let us look forward and enjoy autumn. It is such a special time of year.

DSC02652DSC02640

DSC02777

Comments
  1. memyselfandotherthings says:

    What a wonderful post! Made me smile! I agree with you! I love autumn too and all the autumnal foods. Pumpkin risotto for us tonight.

    AND: I absolutely adore the picture of this shoe! It’s perfect!

  2. […] Inspiration, poems — memyselfandotherthings @ 9:07 am It’s autumn. I love it. My friend Mel shares my love. It’s raining today, but gosh does the rain smell […]

  3. mrs.pogle says:

    I love Autumn, too! 😀

Leave a comment